Russia Drafts Own Resolution In Support Of Venezuelan Maduro Government


Russia submitted its own draft resolution on Venezuela to the UN Security Council (UNSC), supporting Maduro’s leadership and proposing the “Montevideo mechanism” as a solution to the complex political situation. 

The draft also relayed concern at the heightened possibility to use force against Venezuela and meddle in the country’s domestic affairs.

The Montevideo mechanism which was agreed upon by the governments of Mexico, Uruguay and Caribbean community (CARICOM), aims to settle the Venezuelan political crisis through “dialogue for a negotiation, from a position of respect for International Law and Human Rights.” 

This entails a four phased process – dialogue phase, negotiation phase, commitments phase and implementation phase.

The signatory countries strongly adhere to the principles of diplomacy and desire to resolve the Venezuelan crisis peacefully.

Meanwhile, the United States government in support of opposition leader Juan Guaido, sent a draft resolution to UNSC calling for new presidential elections in Venezuela.

The U.S. draft urged “the peaceful restoration of democracy” in Venezuela, “free, fair, and credible” presidential elections, and unobstructed delivery of humanitarian aid to all Venezuelans in need.

President Donald Trump has said that in dealing with Venezuela, Washington is open to all options.

However, the United Nations and the Red Cross urged the United States to cease from politicizing humanitarian aid and providing assistance without the consent of the Venezuelan authorities. 

Maduro has blocked aid deliveries from the United Sates, claiming that they are part of a plot by Washington to remove him from office.

The U.S and 50 other countries have recognized Guaido as the interim president of the Venezuela, while Russia, China, Cuba, Bolivia and a number of other states have voiced out their support for Maduro. 

Mexico and Uruguay declared neutrality and refused to recognize Guaido’s presidency.

A resolution needs nine votes to pass the 15-member Council and no vetoes by the permanent members — the United States, Russia, China, France, and Britain.

Site Managed by ManageWP® Australia